DegenLoot
EN
Search Search the site
Menu DegenLoot
Color theme
Language English
Back to Blog
News

Illuvium Staking V3: What Actually Changed for ILV Holders

Illuvium Staking V3: What Actually Changed for ILV Holders

Illuvium staking v3 isn't news any more, which is worth saying out loud, because plenty of the coverage still reads like a launch-day post. It shipped on November 19, 2025, per Illuvium's own announcement. Roughly ten months ago.

If your ILV has been parked in the old contracts since then and nobody made you move it, you didn't miss a deadline. There isn't one.

Short version: migrating is optional. Rewards come as seasonal points called Shards, not a percentage yield, Illuvium has published no APY for V3, and one of the two advertised reward streams isn't paying out.

1

What Illuvium Staking V3 Actually Is

A rebuild, not a parameter tweak. Illuvium staking v3 moved off Ethereum onto Base, the Coinbase-incubated Layer 2, with a LayerZero bridge for getting ILV over (per Illuvium's announcement, November 2025). First time bridging crypto across chains? Here's what matters about moving crypto across a bridge like this. Two vaults: ILV alone, or ILV paired with ETH. Two reward tracks as well, seasonal Shards plus a direct ILV payout called RevDis. Hold that second one in your head.

2

Do You Need to Migrate?

No. Illuvium's Staking V3 FAQ puts it about as plainly as a crypto project ever puts anything: "Migrating to V3 isn't mandatory, you can stay on V2 if you prefer but you won't earn any shards."

No deadline appears in the FAQ, the announcement, or any launch coverage. Illuvium staking v3 doesn't punish you for waiting. Sitting still costs you Shards and nothing else anyone has stated publicly.

3

What Changed in Your Rewards

Illuvium staking rewards no longer come as a percentage yield, they're seasonal Shards. The ILV-only vault pays 20 Shards per $1,000 staked per day, the ILV/ETH vault pays 80, Illuvium says (November 2025). Lock length and holding history multiply that base. Three levers stack on top of it:

  • Locks from 30 to 365 days scale the multiplier 1x to 2x

  • The legacy "OG boost" is tiered by tenure, Bronze at 1.00x to 1.25x up to Diamond at 1.75x to 2.00x, running 120 days from your migration date

  • Stack both and 3x is the ceiling

  • Weekly emissions fall 2.97%, and Season One allocates 15% of total Shard supply

All of that is per the launch announcement (November 2025), with DailyCoin and EGamers.io corroborating the multipliers.

(That 120-day OG window is the only figure here behaving like a real clock, and almost nobody led with it. Every write-up I read recycled the same vault table.)

4

Illuvium Staking V3 Has No APY, and That's Not an Oversight

Illuvium has published no ILV staking APY for V3. Not in the announcement, not in the FAQ, not in any write-up I found. Shards carry no stated redemption value, so turning 20 a day into a yield figure for Illuvium staking v3 means inventing the exchange rate yourself. If a reward token with no stated value makes you nervous, that's the right instinct, here's how to read a game's tokenomics before you buy in.

5

Illuvium Staking V2 vs V3 at a Glance

Staking V2 Staking V3
Network Ethereum Base
Rewards ILV, no Shards Shards, plus ILV via RevDis
Vaults not stated ILV alone, or ILV with ETH
Multipliers not stated locks 1x to 2x, OG boost 1x to 2x, 3x ceiling
Migration required n/a No

Sourced from Illuvium's announcement and FAQ (November 2025); the "not stated" cells are honest gaps, since neither document publishes a side-by-side against V2.

6

What Hasn't Changed

Illuvium staking v3's other half, the part that pays in real ILV, isn't live. RevDis fires once the protocol clears 150 ETH in revenue, but the announcement calls it paused pending Safety Pool funding under community proposal ICCP-22. Only Shards accrue.

Background, single-sourced so read it as directional: CoinMarketCap's news tracker puts trailing 30-day protocol revenue at roughly $9,781. It also notes August 2026 wage cuts to stretch runway past August 2027, and most senior developers reassigned to the Overworld MMO (snapshot dated September 2026). That's an AI-aggregated page, not a disclosure.

A reward stream gated on protocol revenue, at a protocol reporting revenue in four figures, is worth reading twice. Illuvium's shipping record we covered separately in our 2026 status post. Reception was mixed too. Medium has at least one piece arguing the whole design is a lose-lose for the company and players.

7

So, Move or Sit Still?

Illuvium staking v3 comes down to a simple trade: Shards now, ILV maybe later. Want Shards? Migrate, and the 120-day OG window argues for sooner. Don't care about a points balance with no published dollar value? V2 is fine indefinitely.

My read, opinion rather than reporting: until RevDis switches on, this is a loyalty-points program wearing staking's clothes. The same question applies to anything a Web3 game hands you instead of the underlying asset, worth asking what you actually own. Check the live emission numbers on Illuvium's portal before you move anything, because the schedule decays weekly and every figure above is dated. And if a project reporting four-figure revenue and wage cuts has you looking elsewhere, there are browser-based Illuvium alternatives worth a look too.

8

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Illuvium Staking V3?

Illuvium's staking program rebuilt on Base, live since November 19, 2025. It replaced the Ethereum-based V2 system with two vaults, a LayerZero bridge, seasonal Shards rewards, and a direct-ILV mechanism called RevDis.

Do I have to migrate my ILV to V3?

No. Illuvium's Staking V3 FAQ says migration isn't mandatory and you can stay on V2. The only stated consequence is forfeiting Shards. No deadline appears in any official material.

What is the APY on Illuvium Staking V3?

There isn't one. Illuvium has published no percentage yield for V3. Rewards are denominated in Shards, a seasonal points currency with no stated redemption value, so any APY quoted elsewhere is somebody's estimate.

Why am I not getting ILV rewards from V3?

RevDis, the direct-ILV leg, is paused pending Safety Pool funding under proposal ICCP-22, according to Illuvium's own reporting. It triggers once protocol revenue clears 150 ETH. Until then, only Shards accrue.

Sources

  1. Illuvium's own announcement portal.illuvium.io
  2. Staking V3 FAQ portal.illuvium.io
  3. DailyCoin dailycoin.com
  4. EGamers.io egamers.io
  5. CoinMarketCap's news tracker coinmarketcap.com
  6. lose-lose for the company and players medium.com

Related Posts